It seems to be a fairly common remark made these days to people who voted for Barack Obama in 2008: "I bet you regret it." Well that depends...
If you're a Republican and you mean that we should regret not voting for a borderline senile old man and a woman who LITERALLY believes that dinosaurs and human beings co-existed and is currently shopping a reality show, then no I don't regret voting for Obama. If you're actually approaching it from a nonpartisan angle, then yes I might regret it.
Unlike many people I know, I'm fairly reasonable when it comes to my politics. While I admit that I have very strong opinions, I am by no means an ideologue incapable of even considering an opposing viewpoint. I'm also not above admitting when a person I support comes up short.
President Obama has certainly come up short in his first year of office. His attempts at bipartisanship sure looked good on paper, but like virtually all pussy Democrats he failed to realize that the Republicans don't want to be his friends. Several Republicans have even gone on record as saying that they will automatically oppose any Obama idea no matter what it is. At this point Obama could propose a bill to deliver Christmas presents to orphan children and Glenn Beck would label it communism. The health care bill has been watered down over and over again, and still it's being called socialist. But instead of getting angry and calling out the other side on their obvious lies and hypocrisy on voting rules, Obama is content to rely on his best friends in the media to do that for him. Earth to Obama: THAT'S YOUR JOB! Obama's desire to be all things to all people is the only sure way to mean nothing to anybody.
But do I regret voting for him? It's hard to say. I didn't vote for him under the assumption that he would get into office and really change much of anything. I voted for him because the Republican party has become a sickening joke hellbent on turning this country into a theocracy. The thought of another four years from a party that gave us eight years of George W. Bush (and then tried to pretend that never happened) was enough to make me vote for Homer Simpson before I voted for a Republican.
I'm not ashamed to admit I like Obama on a personal level. Is he a typical politician? You bet. Still, he's not a son of privilege, and he's not a religious fanatic. I actually do believe he has good intentions. I'd just like to see him produce. He's taking the left for granted while taking it in the ass from the right.
I might vote for Obama again in 2012 if he actually shows some balls between now and then. If he doesn't, I'll do what I did in the NJ Governor race and vote Independent. And to all my conservative friends, let me say this: People who voted for Obama are disappointed in him because he's too much like you, not because he's too liberal, so get over yourselves :)
Saturday, March 20, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment